ETEC 115 vs. Optimax 115 which one

misr12
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

ETEC 115 vs. Optimax 115 which one

Post by misr12 » Thu Dec 21, 2006 6:25 am

I have a 2003 Nitro 700LX (17ft. boat). I love the boat but am ready to upgrade my motor. I have a Mecury 60HP big foot two stroke and have enjoyed every minute of it. It works great (having it serviced it every year a big plus). Now I am ready to boost my performance. I do not want to trade in my boat I really like my setup. I would like to get comments from this forum regarding a 115 ETEC or Optimax engines. Which one would be best for my boat?

I have not interest upgrading to 18 to 20ft boat ( I have no interest). I do not know much about these engines except for adds and infomercials and I need comments and experiences from this forum.

Also, am I going to be taken to the wood shed on trade in? I have never done this before I and I want to be prepared and not shocked?

My boat is rated up to 125HP engine.

Thank in advance!

Cal
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: ETEC 115 vs. Optimax 115 which one

Post by Cal » Thu Dec 21, 2006 6:39 am

I've read good and bad comments about both, and have certainly never owned either so it's tough to say.

One interesting thing I have read, and which you should call someone to verify if you're interested in the Evinrude, is that the ETEC's do not require break in period? If true, that might sway me cuz breaking in an outboard i a royal pain in the you know where.

Goodluck!
Cal, Managing Editor
"fish with mindfulness : beware the darkside"

nfocus
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Post by nfocus » Thu Dec 21, 2006 9:32 am

I don't know about the Optimax or the ETEC, but I have a non-optimax Merc 115 on my Nitro (I have a Rick Clunn edition 170TF), which is very similar to yours. I jackplated it and put a ballistic prop on...it's crazy fast for it's size. A little scary, actually.

You'll definately get a LOT of extra performance out of it.