hobie mirage pro angler

Come share your backwater or even blue water success and help others learn more about fishing from a 'yak.
ecu daniel 14
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

hobie mirage pro angler

Post by ecu daniel 14 » Tue Mar 29, 2011 3:41 pm

hey guys,

I am really interested in getting a kayak or a john boat. I am tired of fishing from the bank (I just got kicked out of my favorite spot today because its a "wildlife restoration area" and its state owned...Ive been fishing there for like 2 years..) anyway...has anyone owned one of these? What kind of maintenance is required and how does it perform? Im flat out broke right now (just got two more combos ](*,) ), so I will have to save some money for it...from the videos I have seen it looks pretty stable, it has the awesome trolling motor type attachment if you dont want to use the pedals, and its probably alot cheaper in the long run than a john boat because gas is almost $4 a gallon around here...any experiences to share?
stress-what happens between fishing trips

l2yan
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Re: hobie mirage pro angler

Post by l2yan » Tue Mar 29, 2011 5:26 pm

Sorry, don't own a hobie, nor have I had the chance to paddle one yet. I own and highly recommend you look at the perception pescadore 12.0. They're available for around $500 new :shock: Extremely great deal for a nice kayak. The hull design is the exact mold from the ol' tried and true 2007 WO tarpon 120. Great all-around yak for big and small waters. And FYI, just b/c you mention money, when you look at a kayak's price, I think it's safe to say you may want to add $500-1000 on top of that :shock: for rigging it out...

paddle, PFD, fishfinder, transportion/storage, and the unlimited available/makeable accessories like crate, rod holders, seat, padding (STS), anchor system, dry bag(s), etc.