Old school...

It all started with the plastic worm and has now mutated into a huge array of specialized offerings. Whose is the best and which one is your favorite? Come share your thoughts and opinions here.
uljersey
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Old school...

Post by uljersey » Sun Jun 05, 2011 6:30 am

First a little background. A few years back I went on a tackle spree. Some baits were new to me and I was successful with them - tubes for example. Then there were others that were the 'hot must have' ones and for whatever reason I didn't do well with them. I'm not naming them as it's irrelevant to this thread.

Last year was one of my worst fishing years in memory and I've been fishing for well over 30 years. The ridiculous heat we had in my area played a part, but I got caught up in the trap of tying on new baits every 10 minutes. I lost my focus and wasn't thinking things through. So this winter I cleared out all of my tacklebags and went back to square one. I fish from a kayak and I prefer to pack light. 3 combos at the most and two small tacklebags, each the size of a 'six pack' size lunch cooler. I picked up some Culprit 7" worms, some Charlie Brewer 3" bass grubs, some Mr. Twister curly tail grubs in white and some small crankbaits, the largest being 2.5" long. There's others, but these are a few. They are all capable of catching larger fish.

So here we are this season and it's not even summer yet and I've exceeded my decent fish (over 3 lb) count over last year, most of them caught on the old school baits.

What are some of your favorites from the past ? If they still make them, there's a reason - they work.

NJ Jigman
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Re: Old school...

Post by NJ Jigman » Wed Jun 08, 2011 3:58 am