Sorry Zander you blew it!

The heart and soul of TackleTour. It is, afterall, all about the tackle. Select your subforum of choice and start sharing and asking information, and if you can't figure out which is the right one, choose "General".
Snidley
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Sorry Zander you blew it!

Post by Snidley » Sun Aug 05, 2007 8:30 am

Sorry Zander you blew it. lol. Now I love TT and it is mainly for the reviews which i use to make most of my purchases BUT in the article about economical watercraft missed by far the best unit out there , the Hobie Floatcat. I have been using a Floatcat for 10 years and after fishing it and being around other manufacturers economical fishing craft I have to point out why the Floatcat is superior to all. The main issue is convenience. I know that many guys think an inflateable pontoon boat/float tube is more convenient but they are not. The Hobie can go from car to water fully rigged in 5 minutes. Transport is by cartop and you can easily carry the largest Floatcat by carrying (it's only 40lbs. ) or by dragging it (it's rotomoulded polypropolyne, like a hard Kayak). It can be rigged with a very comfortable boat seat, it can be rigged to troll (for Salmon, Steelhead, Muskie and Pike) and easily carries up to 5 fully rigged rods and reels as well as up to 100 lures, a lipper, pliers, spreader, anchor etc. Because it is a solid tough boat that CANNOT DEFLATE or really even be damaged you can fish fast shallow rockey rivers as well as pounding surf that conventional boats cannot handle (winds up SALMON TIME) and inflateable will be torn up in. If you fish for hard fighters like Salmon, Muskie or virtually all Salties one of the things that happens is the end of fight thrashing at the boat and with a face full of trebles this can be disasterous with any inflateable. No problem with the Hobie ( I got rammed at full speed by a huge Salmon while it was hooked up last year and it was simply a bump with no damage at all). All in all my H