BFS and PowerPro

The single most important aspect of your tackle providing that vital link between yourself and your catch. What's everyone's favorites and why? Come on in and find out!
Smalleyez
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

BFS and PowerPro

Post by Smalleyez » Thu May 23, 2019 10:37 am

I'm just getting into the BFS world and I filled my new Conquest BFS with #15 Powerpro braid. My outfit is casting well and I was surprised how well I could cast a 1/16 oz. Roostertail.

I went with the #15 PowerPro based on the supposedly #4 mono diameter, roundness, etc. All that said, #15 seems like overkill for stream trout. Would #8 PowerPro cast as well or maybe even better than the #15? Suggestions are welcome!
RRR (Round Reels Rule!)

LgMouthGambler
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Re: BFS and PowerPro

Post by LgMouthGambler » Thu May 23, 2019 11:14 am

Just set the drag light. In reality, are you even gonna need a 8lb strength line? The purpose of braid is its "no stretch" an castability qualities. Dont pay no mind to the test rating, its all in the diameter.
<")))><{

Dalleinf
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Post by Dalleinf » Thu May 23, 2019 11:43 am

I use 8, max 10, lb braid on my Conquest BFS and similar BFS reels and my target is trout that weigh 5-10 lb...
I love it.

poisonokie
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Post by poisonokie » Thu May 23, 2019 3:03 pm

Are you tying on a leader? I use 8# j-braid on my alphas air, but without the benefit of a few feet of 6-8# fluoro leader I'd be afraid to use line that thin. First time you get over zealous and get a sudden braid backlash you're liable to see your bait go flying into Oblivion when the line snaps at either the terminal knot or at the loop on the spool responsible for bringing your cast to an instantaneous halt. Not to mention the utter lack of abrasion resistance...

Like LMG said, it's all about the diameter. If you're fishing straight-no-leader I'd stick with the 15#.
This is the way.

Smalleyez
Platinum Angler