Liking PP 30#

The single most important aspect of your tackle providing that vital link between yourself and your catch. What's everyone's favorites and why? Come on in and find out!
DavidSA
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Liking PP 30#

Post by DavidSA » Mon Aug 17, 2015 1:22 am

I've been fishing Powerpro 30# since April. At least in my mind, I am seeing better results then bigger diameter braids which were my staple in the past. My catch rates with a shaky head in shallow water with the 30# is about the same as say 12# FC. I have been playing with FC leaders and having some success but I'm not sure unless I was fishing deep in very clear water that it would have any affect.

any guys seeing similar things? I'm thinking about going to super slick on my next spool vs. the base pp product. Thoughts on that?

John Puckett
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Re: Liking PP 30#

Post by John Puckett » Mon Aug 17, 2015 3:48 am

I'm a big Power Pro fan myself, I'm using 20# on my spinning reel and I'm very satisfied with it. I've tried 30# but I felt it was a little overkill for bass fishing. I use a lot of 50# and 65# on my casting reels with 50# being my favorite overall strength for those. I've also had very good luck with 30 and 40# as well. I really like 30 for "finesse" type casting.

I've tried Super 8 Slick fairly extensively and came to the conclusion that I prefer the original line. It's mmuch more abrasion resistant than S8S. Don't get me wrong I'm not saying any braid is super abrasion resistant but S8S is very poor in this area. It frays so easily, this was the only reason I switched back to original PP. It casts great and makes much less noise going through the guides. I've heard a few guys say they had their knots slip but I never experienced this personally.