Daiwa Lexa Question

Reels are the hottest topic for TackleTour. Everyone wants to know what the latest and greatest is and how they compare to the old guard. What's the best for light stuff, or what's your suggestion for heavy cover. Do we really need different retrieve ratios? It's all in here.
NCD
Newbie Angler
Newbie Angler

Daiwa Lexa Question

Post by NCD » Tue Sep 22, 2020 6:01 pm

Hoping someone can help me out as I’m new to Daiwa reels but am interested in the Lexa 300 size. Can anyone explain to me the difference between an HS and an HD? Also, what if I want a 300HD but don’t want a power handle? Thanks in advance.

Kurt L
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Re: Daiwa Lexa Question

Post by Kurt L » Tue Sep 22, 2020 7:35 pm

I have the original grey 300HSL and upgraded the gears from the original brass to the Stainless Steel HD gears, it's been a very good reel, I would buy another in a second when the time comes. The HD is more oriented towards Ocean and Heavy duty work I believe they have greased bearings so that could reduce casting distance if not flushed, and like mentioned above they have SS gears. I didn't have any problems with the brass gears I just ordered the SS gears on a whim while ordering other parts.

Kurt

Cristo
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Post by Cristo » Tue Sep 22, 2020 11:50 pm

Try the new Tatula 300 :big grin:

RustyHook
Angler
Angler

Post by RustyHook » Sat Oct 17, 2020 9:42 pm

Kurt L wrote:
Tue Sep 22, 2020 7:35 pm
I have the original grey 300HSL and upgraded the gears from the original brass to the Stainless Steel HD gears, it's been a very good reel, I would buy another in a second when the time comes. The HD is more oriented towards Ocean and Heavy duty work I believe they have greased bearings so that could reduce casting distance if not flushed, and like mentioned above they have SS gears. I didn't have any problems with the brass gears I just ordered the SS gears on a whim while ordering other parts.

Kurt

Kurt,