Curado K or Chronarch G?

Reels are the hottest topic for TackleTour. Everyone wants to know what the latest and greatest is and how they compare to the old guard. What's the best for light stuff, or what's your suggestion for heavy cover. Do we really need different retrieve ratios? It's all in here.
reason162
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Curado K or Chronarch G?

Post by reason162 » Fri Aug 18, 2017 5:04 am

Looking for a saltwater kayak reel to handle 1/2 to 1oz jigs/plugs, the K looks like the "stronger" reel but the lightweight G is enticing.

Which reel would you choose for big fish/locked down drag fishing? Which would you use for flipping/frogging in slop?

rockchalk06
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Re: Curado K or Chronarch G?

Post by rockchalk06 » Fri Aug 18, 2017 5:45 am

I have no experience with the Chronarch G, but I have had some time with the Chronarch MGL. Wasn't a huge fan of it. Great quality and very smooth, but I didn't like how noisy the reel was on the cast. To my understanding, the G is very close to the same reel with a different spool and some minor changes to allow saltwater usage.

The Curado K is a beast. I've been through it top to bottom and the build quality is great. Tank like. Bigger paddle knobs and a deep spool. Its really not as heavy as you would think. I'm used to 6.5 ounce reels all day, but this is around 7.6 I believe. Only an ounce difference.

I have no doubt the G can handle just about anything, but I would rather have the beefier K for what you described. I really like mine. I have sold or traded every Shimano off that isn't a 100D series or 50E series reel. The exception so far is the Curado K. I don't foresee getting rid of it anytime soon.

reason162
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Post by reason162 » Fri Aug 18, 2017 6:05 am

rockchalk06 wrote:The exception so far is the Curado K. I don't foresee getting rid of it anytime soon.