Issue with new Tatula

Reels are the hottest topic for TackleTour. Everyone wants to know what the latest and greatest is and how they compare to the old guard. What's the best for light stuff, or what's your suggestion for heavy cover. Do we really need different retrieve ratios? It's all in here.
ElectricAngler
Angler
Angler

Issue with new Tatula

Post by ElectricAngler » Thu Dec 29, 2016 3:24 pm

Hi all, bought a new Tatula Type-R today and I am noticing something odd.. have not fished with the reel yet but I have noticed sitting around playing with it that occasionally when I press the button and start reeling something is not engaging properly. Typically when I start reeling it's very smooth and I can send the handle spinning, but once very 10 presses or so the handle spins very slowly and I have to crank the handle to keep the spool spinning. If I press the button again and start reeling it seems to fix itself.. Maybe this is normal, I am pretty new to baitcasters, but I have never seen this happen before. I don't suspect it would make much difference while fishing as I'll be cranking the handle if I'm reeling with a fish on, but I'm worried something is wrong. Hoping someone can confirm if this is typical or not.. I'll gladly send the reel back for a replacement, but don't want to waste my time if this is just something that happens?

Anyone have any insight? would be much appreciated! thanks

TommyG
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Re: Issue with new Tatula

Post by TommyG » Thu Dec 29, 2016 8:59 pm

Sounds like the drag is set too loose, tighten the drag and see if it does the same thing.

jwfflipper14
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Post by jwfflipper14 » Thu Dec 29, 2016 11:36 pm