Need a new reel for Bass

Reels are the hottest topic for TackleTour. Everyone wants to know what the latest and greatest is and how they compare to the old guard. What's the best for light stuff, or what's your suggestion for heavy cover. Do we really need different retrieve ratios? It's all in here.
framos917
Newbie Angler
Newbie Angler

Need a new reel for Bass

Post by framos917 » Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:26 pm

I am a newbie so i hope this is were you post this type of question. I have a spincast Daiwa Goldcast and a spinning Shimano X-1000 that I have used for over 25 years. I have been only doing trout fishing during that time and can say that I go to the Shimano more, I just like the spinning reel better, but they have both been good reels. Both are in the ultra light to light category. I am going to start fishing closer to home more, Oklahoma, so I need to get tackle for bass at the 10 to 12 lb. cateogry. Since I liked the Shimano X-1000 so much I was leaning toward the Shimano Senora or Sedano model. Any suggestions? Has anybody gone thru this transition (from ultra to light to Medium). Am I thinking throught this correctly. By the way I have never fished for Bass, so i assume you go with tackle you are familar with and just go to the next step up.

Hogsticker2
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Re: Need a new reel for Bass

Post by Hogsticker2 » Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:08 pm

This thread could become long and exhausting. Really anything you purchase would be considered an upgrade from what you are using now. I would go into a local tackle store and talk to some people. You will get quicker advice and suggestions that way. Maybe just get yourself a Shimano 2500 size reel, a 6'6" medium heavy graphite rod, and hit the water. Also consider what type of line you may be using - important piece of the puzzle. Best of luck to ya!

Big Al
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Post by Big Al » Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:41 pm