Bait-casting reel - pike, walleye

Reels are the hottest topic for TackleTour. Everyone wants to know what the latest and greatest is and how they compare to the old guard. What's the best for light stuff, or what's your suggestion for heavy cover. Do we really need different retrieve ratios? It's all in here.
nebulosu
Newbie Angler
Newbie Angler

Bait-casting reel - pike, walleye

Post by nebulosu » Sat May 07, 2011 8:07 am

Hi, I am a beginner in bait-casting, just started a year ago. Now I want to upgrade my equipment. I fish mainly for pike and walleye.

I am looking at abu revo winch and daiwa hsta.

Can I use the revo winch for throwing 3/8 oz crank baits, how about 1/4oz jigs or 3/8oz spoons?

BRONZEBACK29
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Re: Bait-casting reel - pike, walleye

Post by BRONZEBACK29 » Sat May 07, 2011 10:10 am

Not sure what size of pike your fishing for but I would go with the Curado 300E.

As for the waleye I like my chronarch D7....
LIVE TO FISH-FISH TO LIVE

ecu daniel 14
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Post by ecu daniel 14 » Sat May 07, 2011 10:21 am

I agree with the 300 curado...unless you want some beastly Winch drag, but IMO its not fun to just manhandle a fish...I like to play with him :lol:

Shimano makes a good product, cant really go wrong....

You might want to take a look at some round reels too...Daiwa Luna, Shimano Calcutta....
stress-what happens between fishing trips

Smalleyez
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Post by Smalleyez » Sun May 08, 2011 2:44 am

The HSTA makes a nice reel for your uses. I had one for a while and I caught some very large pike using it, yet it will cast a range of lures for both eyez and pike.
RRR (Round Reels Rule!)

nebulosu
Newbie Angler
Newbie Angler

Post by nebulosu » Sun May 08, 2011 9:05 am

Thanks for the replays guys.

I am based in Europe, so I am not talking about muskies, just pike. There are 10kg (22 lb) pikes, but my personal record is 2.5kg (5.5 lbs). I think curado 300 is a bit to much.