Rod Shipping

A specialized forum to discuss anything and everything about your favorite or not so favorite fishing rods.
smallies
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Rod Shipping

Post by smallies » Sat Jan 19, 2019 6:45 pm

I have been shipping rods across the United States for the last 10 years, and have never paid more than about $40 to ship a rod. I went to my local UPS today, which I have probably shipped 15-20 rods from, and usually pay about 30-40$. They told me it would cost $251 to UPS ground ship a rod, cheap as possible. I walked out, and went to FexEx. They told me it would be $192 to ground ship the rod. I left there as well. I have never seen anything near those numbers... It was a standard TW rod tube. Have you guys experienced anything like that recently?

chreim20
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Re: Rod Shipping

Post by chreim20 » Sat Jan 19, 2019 8:16 pm

Yes, actually today, I went to ship a rod through FedEx and it was crazy high, like well over a $100. However, I cut the tube down as far as possible and got an estimate through USPS and it was $20. I think when you get over 90 inches for the l x w x h then they start charging a lot more, like a surcharge or something. As much business these shipping companies are getting with all the online shopping and low fuel costs, you'd think the price would stay steady or even drop. I feel your pain, lol ](*,)

Real Pudd legend
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Post by Real Pudd legend » Sat Jan 19, 2019 10:09 pm

Those guys are not doing the measuremts correctly . I live in California and if I go fed ex and ship a rod (2” pvc ) to Texas it cost me $20 with insurance. If I ship to Florida For instance it will run me $32. Usps to Florida will be $26... UPS is the ultimate ripoff . Fed ex surprisingly as of late has been pretty darn fair for me and a guarantee the rod gets there in one piece .

Aquaftm45
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Post by Aquaftm45 » Sat Jan 19, 2019 10:43 pm