Perfect spinning for rivers

A specialized forum to discuss anything and everything about your favorite or not so favorite fishing rods.
Grothmog
Newbie Angler
Newbie Angler

Perfect spinning for rivers

Post by Grothmog » Fri May 08, 2015 7:56 pm

Hello Everyone! I'm new to the forum, I'm looking for advice in choosing perfect rod for my father 60th birthday, unfortunetly myself i have very little knowledge about fishing. So far i have been looking at rods by evergreen or megabass however there is just too much parameters for me to choose optimal one. My father usually fishes perch and pike at medium sized rivers.

Could You help me find optimal rod?

GOOD YEAR 71
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Re: Perfect spinning for rivers

Post by GOOD YEAR 71 » Sat May 09, 2015 3:21 am

I like your style. I, too, have purchased my father some nice equipment. You mention Perch and Pike, so you'll need versatile. You mention medium river, so you'll need length to obtain distance.

I don't know about Megabass or Evergreen, but I do know you'll like this. Not too pricey and very nice. Your dad will love it.

http://www.cloudninetackle.jp/product/3571

Length: 9'3" (2 Piece) | Weight: 127g | Lure Weight: 7-35g | Line Weight: 6-16lb

slipperybob
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Post by slipperybob » Sat May 09, 2015 4:36 am

Pikes basically eat perches. Might need two different rods.

Grothmog
Newbie Angler
Newbie Angler

Post by Grothmog » Sat May 09, 2015 7:13 pm

@slipperybob

I know that but I'm 99% sure that my father would prefer one more universal rod.

FrankW
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Post by FrankW » Sat May 09, 2015 9:18 pm

Hi Grothmog,

Perch and Pike is quite a challenge. Since you are river fishing there is a good chance that the Pike are not huge. So that might make it easier. Since you don't have much knowledge as to what is needed I have some suggestions.