Dobyns vs. Recon (again?!)

A specialized forum to discuss anything and everything about your favorite or not so favorite fishing rods.
dqphysics
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Dobyns vs. Recon (again?!)

Post by dqphysics » Sun Mar 11, 2012 6:29 pm

Who doesn't want to argue more over Dobyns vs Recon?

I am looking for a new Pitching and Flipping rod and need serious help. One major problem is I do not know which length or power I should get. Here is what I am currently viewing as my options:

1) Recon 764MH or 766H
2) Dobyns 765Flip or 766Flip
3) Dobyns 735C or 736c

I am looking at Dobyns champions, and there is no way I can buy the Extreme (unless someone wants to let one go for the price of a Champion) but would not be apposed to a Savvy if people believe they are good enough.

I have a Core51 and plan on using no more then 3/4 oz (I don't plan on punching mats). Mostly jigs but will use bullets and plastics.

I am new to flipping and pitching and looking for something I can learn on and have good accuracy. Is it better to have the shorter (7'3") for this or is better for the longer ones (7'6"). I have both Dobyns and Phenix rods and happy with both brands, but having a hard time deciding.

Thank you in advance.

Hogsticker2
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Re: Dobyns vs. Recon (again?!)

Post by Hogsticker2 » Sun Mar 11, 2012 7:17 pm

I would go with the Champion 1st, but I would certainly get the Recon over the Savvy.

mnbassman23
Angler
Angler

Post by mnbassman23 » Sun Mar 11, 2012 7:36 pm