Bass Fishing Not Very Popular?

Anything and everything related to fishing tackle. If you cannot find the sub-category for your topic, go ahead and post it in here!
MK49
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Bass Fishing Not Very Popular?

Post by MK49 » Sun Nov 12, 2023 7:37 pm

I started fishing for bass in the late 1970s, and never looked back. I've been trying to post as many posts as possible to make this forum more active. But, it's not happening. I started a new thread on a guitar forum yesterday, and in 24 hours, I got 44 replies. That's not going to happen here. So, I started thinking that bass fishing is not as popular as I thought, which is kind of sad, because I started fishing, before I started playing guitars. Do you think there are like 40 times more guitar players than bass fishermen? I wouldn't think so. Or, bass fisherman in general doesn't communicate with others on a forum? I just want to see a bass fishing forum as active as the Gear Page, a guitar forum, which I've been posting since the late 1990s. I know by now, it's never going to happen, but still, I want to see more fishing topics.

hoohoorjoo
TT Moderator
TT Moderator

Re: Bass Fishing Not Very Popular?

Post by hoohoorjoo » Mon Nov 13, 2023 4:05 am

Sadly, forums have declined with the advance of social media. This is due to "instant gratification" that most of the media platforms offer today. The guitar forum you frequent is likely populated by older guys who don't do as much modern social media. Also, we experienced a crash(actually, 2 crashes) a few years back and a lot of our regulars didn't return. Unfortunately, we have also lost some to death, others to retiring and still others to changing family dynamics. It is the sad reality of the "your way, right away" mentality that our world has adopted in this latest generation. Forums just aren't as popular as they used to be. I still love TT, though.
Try not to let your mind wander. It is much too small to be outside unsupervised.

LowRange