Super tough bite! Help

Anything and everything related to fishing tackle. If you cannot find the sub-category for your topic, go ahead and post it in here!
Matt_3479
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Super tough bite! Help

Post by Matt_3479 » Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:57 am

I’ve been coming to a cottage in northern Ontario for 12 years now. Its on a beauty little lake that is super clear, and perfect for swimming but locating and picking up fish has always been tougher but still successful. This year we’ve located schools of smallies off an island that’s a rock ledge that goes from 20-60ft. They seem to be hanging around in the 33-45’ range and for the life of me I can’t seem to get them to bite!

Water temps are pretty high, last couple years we found them again in the 40-50’ range and were smoking them on weightless t-rig senko’s. sure it took a while but anything with weight and they just didn’t seem to bite.

This year I’ve tried everything from tubes, drop shot (worms live and plastic, keitechs), Ned rig, senkos both wacky and t-rig, Neko rig and still can’t find the bite. Had 1 3.75lber grab a tube but that’s it!

Some help would be great!!

goldrod
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Re: Super tough bite! Help

Post by goldrod » Sat Jul 13, 2019 9:12 am

Have you tried a weighted Swimbait?
I know you said weighted lures were unproductive but
I’ve found that zappu pile driver on a soft Swimbait like a skinny dipper or even a fluke style bait really produces on the fall.
That blade has a twist in it that cause flash on the drop as well as the retrieve.
For by him were all things created, that are in heaven, and that are in earth, visible and invisible

hoohoorjoo
TT Moderator
TT Moderator

Post by hoohoorjoo » Sat Jul 13, 2019 8:11 pm