What are you using to clean, lube, grease your reels?

Anything and everything related to fishing tackle. If you cannot find the sub-category for your topic, go ahead and post it in here!
freelancer27
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

What are you using to clean, lube, grease your reels?

Post by freelancer27 » Sun Sep 17, 2017 8:33 pm

Hi all,

I am looking for some recommendations on cleaning/ lubrication material. I am new to completely disassembling my reels and cleaning them.

I am wondering if you could help me understand what you are using to get the job done.

Since I have different brand reels (Shimano, Daiwa, Abu, Lew's) I am wondering you guys can recommend lube, grease, etc. that works for all reels?

Thanks a lot!

Cheers!

trevorvandam
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Re: What are you using to clean, lube, grease your reels?

Post by trevorvandam » Mon Sep 18, 2017 12:32 pm

I don't completely teardown my reels myself. But I use shimano oil and grease. But I'm running low on grease, so I might try some different stuff. Im curios to see what other guys use for grease.

To wipe down my reels, I use penn rod and reel cleaner, really good stuff

accodn2ryan
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Post by accodn2ryan » Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:11 pm

I'm pretty curious as well, but mainly as to what people use to clean and flush bearings. I've read people use lighter fluid, simple green, etc. Just wondering what's the best/safest to use for the bearings, so I don't ruin them.

TommyG
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Post by TommyG » Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:36 pm

I use the Simple Green Crystal for bearings.

Jeffbro999
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Post by Jeffbro999 » Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:41 pm

I like TSI 321 for spool bearings, CorrosionX grease for internals, and CorrosionX spray for my anti reverse bearing.