Rain Gear for Warm Months

Anything and everything related to fishing tackle. If you cannot find the sub-category for your topic, go ahead and post it in here!
Greg64
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Rain Gear for Warm Months

Post by Greg64 » Sun Jun 28, 2015 9:59 pm

I'm looking for rain gear to wear during warmer months. I fish entirely in the Southeast; so, I deal with hot temperatures during the late Spring and Summer months. I have Cabela's Guidewear for the cooler months; however, it's really too heavy when it's warms. So, I'm looking for suggestions for rain gear for warm months. I know Frogg Toggs are popular; however, I've seen many posts questioning their durability.

Suggestions? Cost really isn't a factor.

Thanks!

Jeffbro999
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Re: Rain Gear for Warm Months

Post by Jeffbro999 » Mon Jun 29, 2015 1:58 am

Ive been using a Columbia Watertight rain jacket for a few years now and it has performed great. Worn it through some heavy rains and it keeps me very dry. I live in Florida and fish through a lot of pop up storms so it gets used a lot. Even wore it fishing in a tropical storm a few years ago and kept me dry. I would think the new model would be even better.

Greg64
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Post by Greg64 » Mon Jun 29, 2015 3:41 am

Thanks for the reply. I'll give it a look.

Farnorth
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Post by Farnorth » Mon Jun 29, 2015 6:33 am

I think with warm weather it's a bit of a trade off. I have a Simms Pro Dry jacket and bibs that I love because they really do keep me dry. They are Gore tex pro shell items so they are very waterproof but might be too similar to your guide wear and a bit warm. They are uninsulated but the fabric is not really light. Tackle Tour has a review for these.

Maybe try something like this:

http://arcteryx.com/product.aspx?langua ... -SL-Jacket