Favorite dropshot weight

Anything and everything related to fishing tackle. If you cannot find the sub-category for your topic, go ahead and post it in here!
joeim8
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

Favorite dropshot weight

Post by joeim8 » Wed Jul 27, 2011 11:54 am

For rocky structure?

Tungsten/Lead?
Shape?

gfabbri
Angler
Angler

Re: Favorite dropshot weight

Post by gfabbri » Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:22 pm

I'm pretty new to DS, but fishing a rocky bottom with tungsten stick-shaped weights, I went through a pack of 5 in a couple of hours. Switched to tungsten "pears" and lost zero in a couple outings at the same spot.

-G

Reel Old Geezer
TT Gear Crew
TT Gear Crew

Post by Reel Old Geezer » Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:39 pm

After 5 years of doing lots of drop shot fishing in a rocky river for smallmouth bass, and trying most commercially available sinkers, I have settled on using the same system that steelhead fishermen have used for decades. I use hollow lead wire. It comes in several diameters and is inexpensive. I cut to the amount of weight I want, run my line through the hole and peg it with a toothpick. I usually tie a single overhand knot to stop slipping. I then bend the lead into a shallow U shape, and go fishing. Rock snags are almost all gone. You can get this lead wire through most major tackle suppliers (Cabela's, etc) and most tackle shops where there are steelhead fishermen.

vArm
Elite Angler
Elite Angler

Post by vArm » Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:57 pm

DS is one of the few applications I don't throw expensive weights at, Especially around rock. The main thing I'm looking for when DSing rocks is that the weight remains in contact with the rock, I don't need to feel every crack just the pressure of the weight up against the rock.
My favorite so far, mainly because of the price but also because of feel are the Voss Drop Shot Weights.

But after reading ROG's post, I will probably just start doing that.
MegabassUSA.com

goblue
Senior Angler
Senior Angler