How to fish a slow sinking Got 'Em Coach bluegill?

Come share your passion, experiences, and questions for the latest fishing craze to take the Nation... you asked for it, and here it is.. TT's SWIMBAIT FORUM!
mcfishing620
Angler
Angler

How to fish a slow sinking Got 'Em Coach bluegill?

Post by mcfishing620 » Sat Jul 22, 2017 2:21 pm

So I am new to swimbaits, but wanna try them for big bass. I bought a BD Shad the other day and it works really good at the speed and depth I want, but I also have a Got 'Em Coach bluegill that's a slow sinking, and I can't fish that thing for the life of me. It will hardly sink at all, and soon as I start reeling it goes straight to the surface. I'm a crankbait guy, so I'm not good with reeling like a grandma, and I don't fish on the surface generally either. I need it down 2-5 feet or so. Would adding adhesive lead weights work? Any ideas?
My go to...
Shimano Antares 12 / 7' St Croix Legend Tournament Bass / Xcalibur XKR50 chrome/black

mark poulson
TT Pro Angler
TT Pro Angler

Re: How to fish a slow sinking Got 'Em Coach bluegill?

Post by mark poulson » Sun Jul 23, 2017 7:09 am

Here's a link to the TT review:
http://www.tackletour.com/previewgotemcoachpg2.html
It comes in floating and slow sink.
Basically, fish it slow enough to keep it from rising. Thinner fluorocarbon line will help, but I wouldn't fish it on less than 12lb in open water, and 17b around cover.

mcfishing620
Angler
Angler

Post by mcfishing620 » Sun Jul 23, 2017 7:26 am

Article doesn't really answer all my questions though...
My go to...
Shimano Antares 12 / 7' St Croix Legend Tournament Bass / Xcalibur XKR50 chrome/black

mark poulson
TT Pro Angler
TT Pro Angler

Post by mark poulson » Sun Jul 23, 2017 11:36 am

mcfishing620 wrote:Article doesn't really answer all my questions though...