How to maintain my Alpha Ito?

Here's your chance to speak directly with the TT Gear Crew. Post your questions, comments, experiences regarding tackle maintenance and super tuning
Greasemonkey
Senior Angler
Senior Angler

How to maintain my Alpha Ito?

Post by Greasemonkey » Thu Jun 15, 2006 7:45 pm

Lately I have been fishing more and more often and would like to keep my Alpha Ito in great shape as i use them. I fished with them at least twice a week and all I really do is wash them down with a bottle of water.

What are some of the things i can do to keep my reel in top shape?

What type of lube and grease do you guys use for your reel?

And most importantly what part do you grease up and what part do you lube up?

I am a newbie at fishing, but I like to catch big fish. Any insight you have would be greatly appreciate it.

D.R.
Pro Angler
Pro Angler

Re: How to maintain my Alpha Ito?

Post by D.R. » Thu Jun 15, 2006 7:49 pm

Look at the Sol maint thread. The Sol and Alphas are the same animal just colors and part numbers. The Sol thread by Chucke gives you a great breakown of reel maint.

D.R.
Prostaff: Dobyns Rods, Smooth Drag, Tackle Warehouse, Lake Fork Tackle

ChuckE
TT Gear Crew
TT Gear Crew

Post by ChuckE » Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:18 pm

Here's the link that DR was posting about:
http://www.tackletour.com/articlereelma ... tdsol.html

Rinsing the reel with warm fresh water, shaking it out to remove excess water and wiping the outside is a good practice after use. Make sure to let it dry before storing it in a rod locker.

The spool bearings will likely need to be lubed with a light drop of reel oil, about every 10 to 20 outings or so, dependant on use.

An annual clean, inspect and relube during the off-season is also a good practice, again dependant on use. A touch-up like in the article would only be necessary maybe once during a season of heavy use.