Newbie Shimarno 16 Aldebaran BFS - Quick Questions

Here's your chance to speak directly with the TT Gear Crew. Post your questions, comments, experiences regarding tackle maintenance and super tuning
ultralight
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Newbie Shimarno 16 Aldebaran BFS - Quick Questions

Post by ultralight » Sun Jan 26, 2020 1:33 am

I'm basically a total Newbie to baitcasting reels.

Have had my Aldebaran Aldebaran 16 BFS for a year along with an Avail 16ALD15R spool and finally getting around to taking it out of the box and trying to install the spool etc. (I also have the XG model with 8.0 ratio but decided to stay with this 6.5 ratio unit instead.)

A few questions for you pros....:)

1. The reel comes with a green and a blue bottle of oil. What are each of the color oil for? And how often do I use them

2. I see that only 3 magnets a side is installed. To use the Avail, I need to install a 4th magnet. I see that the SHIMANO magnet has one side with a "N" imprinted on it. All the other three Shimano magnets do not show the "N' facing out. However, when I install it, the magnet wants to have the 'N' side facing out. I try to put it in with the "N" downwards but it will eventually flip around. Is that a problem?

3. For those of you with the Avail spool, do I need to also replace the palm plate bearing or any bearing? The Avail people list a bearing also.

4. The spool has noticeably more play than the original stock bearing which has almost zero play. Is this due to my need to also have a replaced bearing or is this normal?

Thanks in advance for any help.

UL

antonv
Angler
Angler

Re: Newbie Shimarno 16 Aldebaran BFS - Quick Questions

Post by antonv » Tue Jan 28, 2020 8:37 pm

1. The green and blue bottled oils are Shimano's BFS (light) oil and regular oil (I think they call it the Bantam oil?) respectively. I don't use them, I prefer the Hedgehog Alchemy Ultra Light or TSI 321. It makes a huge difference casting lures weighing <2 grams.