Fishing Line Choices

Discussions focused on the pursuit of freshwater species
vanderty
Newbie Angler
Newbie Angler

Fishing Line Choices

Post by vanderty » Thu May 01, 2003 10:02 pm

Hello all,

I'm sure this subject has been talked over to death (hopefully not) but since I'm a newbie maybe I could get your opinions.
First off, I've been an avid fan of Stren MagnaThin for the past 5 years (8-lb. clear) for my spinning combo for finessing bass. Recently my Magnathin began to fail me. Switched to my other new spools, same trouble. NO knot strength at all!!! Speaking with a local tackle shop about the problem, they informed me that Stren hasn't produced Magnathin for something like 3 years and the trouble I way having was do to age??? Is this true?? It is still sold by BassPro and other major stores...hmmm. I ended up switching to a line that I saw reviewed here, Suffix DNA. Again I went with 8-lb. The line is good, strong, great knot strength, limited stretch, but its diameter is much larger than magnathin, which definitely limits my weightless worm casting. Any suggestions on a "thin" line similar to Magnathin but has the versatility of the DNA???
Thanks,
Ty

bitesize
Platinum Angler
Platinum Angler

Re: Fishing Line Choices

Post by bitesize » Fri May 02, 2003 1:18 pm

Umm, how about Maxima? Or Trilene XL? Actually, I don't really like XL anymore because it does not last me even half season. The line dries fast. I have also tried DNA after reading the review and I have been using that. Maybe downsize from 8lb to 6lb test for finesse worming? Just don't haul the fish in like you would with 8lb test. :D

BOX-22
Angler
Angler

Post by BOX-22 » Mon May 05, 2003 7:14 pm